Javascript DHTML Drop Down Menu Powered by Javascript DHTML Drop Down Menu Powered by
Current Faculty    
  Dr. Ramnath Misra, Professor  
Prof. Ramnath Misra is a graduate of S.C.B. Medical College, Cuttack and went on to do his postgraduation in General Medicine from the same Institution in 1982. He was selected as an ICMR Research Officer under the Talent Search Scheme and worked with Prof A N Malaviya at AIIMS, New Delhi. In 1986 he received Fellowship of the Arthritis Research Council, UK.and underwent training in Clinical Immunology and Rheumatology under Sir Professor Ravinder Maini and Dame Prof Carol Black at the Kennedy Institute of Rheumatology, London. He joined the department in 1989 and became Professor of Clinical Immunology in 2000. He was awarded the Knoll Oration by Indian Rheumatology Association in 2002. He was Editor of the Journal of Indian Rheumatology Association from 2002 to 2005 and has served on Editorial Boards of Rheumatology (Oxford) and Arthritis Research and Therapy. He was elected as a Fellow of the Royal College of Physician, London. in 2009. His current research interests include immune response to enteric bacteria in patients with reactive arthritis/undifferentiated spondyloarthropathy and relation of disease activity with lymphocyte apoptosis and nucleosomal clearance in SLE. He coordinates the Vasculitis Study Group of the Indian Rheumatology Association
  Dr. Amita Aggarwal, Additional Professor  
Dr Amita Aggarwal received her graduate medical education and postgraduate training in Internal Medicine at All India Institute of Medical Sciences, New Delhi. She obtained DM (Clinical Immunology) from this department and later joined the faculty in 1996. She was awarded the APLAR fellowship for training in Rheumatology and trained at Royal Melbourne Hospital, Australia in 1995. Later in 2006 she spent time at Department of Pediatric Rheumatology , Oklahoma Health Science centre ,USA under the DBT sponsored overseas research associateship.

Dr Aggarwal haad an outstanding academic career and is a recipient of a number of prestigious awards. These include National Bio-sciences Award for Career Development from Department of Biotechnology (2004), and Kashanika Oration award (2005), Dr Kamala Menon Award (2001) and Shakuntala Amir Chand award (1998) of Indian Council of Medical Research. She has delivered the Zydus Oration of the Indian Association of Rheumatology in 2002 and is the recipient of Dr Coelho Memorial Lecturership in Experimental Medicine (2005) of the Association of Physicians of India. She has also been the recipient of numerous international travel awards and best paper/poster awards.

Dr. Aggarwal is a clinician with special interest in autoimmune rheumatic diseases especially Juvenile idiopathic arthritis. Her current research is focused on pathogenesis of juvenile idiopathic arthritis with special emphasis on the role of Toll like receptors, IL-1 gene polymorphism and understanding the immune pathway involved using gene expression profiling. Other research interest includes: Occult MAS in children with SoJIA and methods to predict response to methotrexate in rheumatoid arthritis. She has more than 100 publications to her credit.

She is currently the Secretary of the Indian Rheumatology Association and is the national co-ordinator for India in the Pediatric Rheumatology International Trial organization.
  Dr. Aruna Parashar  
  Dr. Vikas Agarwal, Assistant Professor  
Dr. Vikas Agarwal graduated from King George’s Medical College and did MD (Internal Medicine) from the same institute in 1996. He worked briefly as senior resident at KGMC and joined this department in January 1997. After one year as senior resident he registered for the DM program which he successfully completed in December 2000. Following a brief stint as at department of Rheumatology at Nizam’s Institute of Medical Sciences, Hyderabad he worked for three years as Senior Lecturer in internal medicine at Govt Medical College & Hospital, Chandigarh. He came back to his parent department as Assistant Professor in September 2004. Beside being a clinician he has interest in drug resistance mechanisms and implications in various diseases, pathogenesis and newer treatments in scleroderma, newer therapies in inflammatory back pain, role of stem cells in autoimmune diseases, and role of psychoneuroimmunology in autoimmune diseases. He delivered the Zydus Oration of the Indian Association of Rheumatology in 2007.
  Dr. Able Lawrence, Assistant Professor  
Dr Able Lawrence received his undergradudate medical training (MBBS) from Government Medical College, Kozhikode and postgraduate training in Internal Medicine (MD) at Postgraduate Institute of Medical Education and Research (PGIMER), Chandigarh. He first joined the department as a senior resident (Hospital Services) before being selected for the DM program which he completed in December 2003. He was serving as Assistant Professor of Rheumatology and Immunology at Amrita Institute of Medical Sciences, Kochi when he returned as faculty in the parent department in October 2004. Besides his interest in Fibromyalgia and soft tissue rheumatism, Idiopathic Inflammatory Myositis and Systemic Vasculitis, he has keen interests in Meta-analysis and Bayesian Biostatistics. He received the inaugural JCR International Fellowship in April 2004 and again in 2005.
Past members of the Faulty  
  Sita Naik, Professor (1992 -2009)  
  Prof. Sita Naik is a graduate of Maulana Azad Medical College, New Delhi and did her post-graduation in Pathology from the Post-graduate Institute of Medical Education and Research, Chandigarh. She joined SGPGI in 1987 at the inception of the Institute and has been actively engaged in developing the department. Her research interest has been in the immunology of infections disease and is involved in the following areas of research: immunology and molecular epidemiology of hepatitis B and E virus infections, identification of possible new vaccine candidates for visceral leishmaniasis, the molecular basis of action of various disease modifying drugs like gold and methotrexate in rheumatoid arthritis. Dr. Sita Naik has over 100 research publications and chapters in books and is a Fellow of National Academy of Medical Sciences.  
  Soniya Nityanand (1993-2003)  
Dr Nityanand had her undergraduate and postgraduate training in King George’s Medical College, Lucknow and got a PhD from Karolinska University, Sweden. She joined the faculty in 1993 and lworked on the pathogenensis of Takayasu’s arteritis. She showed special interest in immunohematology and ultimately moved to the newly created Department of Hematology at SGPGI as Professor in 2003.
  V K Singh (1989 to 2002)  
Dr V K Singh did his PhD from Central Drug Research Institute , Lucknow. After his post-doctoral training in USA, he joined the Department in 1989 and served with distinction till 2001. He established an active research program investigating the pathogenesis of acute anterior uveitis and was interested in the mechanism of action of indigenous immunomodulators
  Ram Raj Singh (1987 to 1991)  
Dr Singh had his undergraduate and postgraduate training in King George’s Medical College, Lucknow and his Rheumatology training with Dr AN Malaviya at AIIMS, New Delhi. He served the department as Assistant Professor from 1987 to 1991. He was instrumental, along with Dr SS Agarwal, in establishing the clinical services.
  SS Agarwal (1987 to 1997)  
  Dr Agarwal was the founder Professor and Head, whose foresight and vision led to the inclusion of the specialty in the mandate of SGPGI. He led the department with distinction during the early period and was associated with it till 1997.